Music at Wellhayes - Janus Ensemble - 19:30 13th July 2019

The english wine collection wellhayes vineyard concerts

The Janus Ensemble was founded in January 2015 by Charlotte Amherst and Conductor Michael Coleby. Described as a "terrific group of young, talented, enthusiastic players whose musicianship is exemplary", they are returning to wellhayes for the third successive year, following their acclaimed performance of the Shostakovitch Piano Quintet as part of last year's Music@Wellhayes concerts. The Ensemble brings together aspiring young professional musicians at the outset of their careers and is 'establishing itself as a vibrant addition to London concert life. During the past year the Ensemble has provided concerto opportunities to several of its principal players, and has showcased other young artists such as Australiansoprano Sky Ingram and violinist Kristine Balanas. As well as playing for its resident conductor Michael Coleby, the Janus Ensemble has also enjoyed collaborations with Tom Seligman, Ben Palmer and Harry Ogg. The ensemble's repertoire is diverse, ranging from classical symphonies to Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring (with over 100 musicians on stage) to chamber works. Contemporary music performance include Ian Stephens's Thea Dances, Guillermo Martinez's Noche en los Jardines de Granada, Daniel Bush's Symphonic Dance, Jospehine Stephenson's Abend and the world premiere of the string orchestra version of Peter Sculthorpe's The Stars Turn.


theenglishwinecollection wellhayes opera vineyard music


EVENT DATE AND TIME:  19:30 4th July 2019

At: Wellhayes Vineyard EX16 7NY

  • £15.00

May We Also Recommend